12 African Countries That Allow Dual Citizenship

Written by Lillian Mutiso

Dual citizenship

Most African countries do not recognize dual citizenship. This is mainly due to post-colonial concerns, when newly independent African countries wanted to ensure loyalty as part of nation building. They also wanted to control the demographic composition of their countries. In particular, these laws targeted those within the country who were not of “African” origin.

Below are 12 African countries that allow dual citizenship.

Sources; BBC, IRIN, AllAfrica, VOA, Sunday Times, D’ALESSION LAW GROUP, SaharaReporters.com, South African High Commission, Ghana Embassy, Dual Citizenship Malawi.