Chelsea Crowned English Premier League Champions

Chelsea Crowned English Premier League Champions

Chelsea have won the 2014-15 English Premier League title following a 1-0 victory over Crystal Palace on Sunday.

The Blues defeated Palace by a single goal thanks to a strike from Belgian star Eden Hazard. The player was taken down by James McArthur in the box, handing him a penalty, which would usually be a matter for second nature for the skilful attacking player.

But in uncharacteristic style, a poor effort was saved by Julian Speroni, but fortune was on the side of the Chelsea player as he headed in the rebound to win the match for the London team, and ensure that Jose Mourinho’s charges could no longer be reached by the chasing pack of Manchester City and Arsenal.

The penalty miss was Hazard’s only blooper out of ten spot kicks throughout the season, while the winner was his 14th strike in a highly successful campaign.

Ivorian striker Didier Drogba wins a fourth Premier League title, adding to his legend as one of the best attacking players to have played at the club, though this season has not seen the 37-year-old play as big as role in the London side’s success as in previous title winning campaigns.

He was on target against Leicester City on Wednesday night’s 3-1 victory over the Foxes at the King Power Stadium, but prior to that he had only scored two other EPL goals for Chelsea this season.

This title triumph is Mourinho’s third English top flight crown with the Blues, and his first since returning to the club in 2013.


The Vine Video below shows two of Chelsea’s top players, Eden Hazard and Didier Drogba (Courtesy of Chelsea’s official account on Vine)