CAF Reveals Nominees For Various Soccer Award Categories

Written by Peter Pedroncelli

While much of the focus inevitably falls on the African Player of the Year accolade, the various nominees for other soccer award categories have been revealed by CAF ahead of the gala event in January.

The additional categories included Women’s Player of the Year, club and national teams of the year, coach of the year and accolades for promising young players.

Nigeria’s Manchester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho is nominated for the Most Promising Talent award, while compatriot Alex Iwobi of Arsenal is up for the Youth Player of the Year nod.

The club of the year award will likely go to Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa as CAF Champions League winners, while the national team of the year is more difficult to predict, with the likes of Senegal, Uganda and the Nigeria Under-23 side all in with a chance of securing the prize from Africa’s soccer governing body.

The winners of the various awards, including the player of the year, will be announced on Thursday, January 5 at the Glo-CAF 2016 Awards Gala in Abuja, Nigeria.

These are the nominees for all of the CAF awards:


Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)

Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & JVW)

Raissa Feudjio Tchuanyo (Cameroon & Aland United)


Most promising Talent

Elia Meschak (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)

Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

Oghenekaro Etebo (Nigeria & CD Feirense)

Ramadan Sobhi (Egypt & Stoke City)

African Soccer Players - Kelechi Iheanacho of Manchester City in UEFA Champions League
Kelechi Iheanacho is a player of high quality –

Youth Player of the Year

Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)

Eric Ayiah (Ghana U-17)

Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)

Sandra Owusu-Ansah (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)

Sidiki Maiga (Mali U-20)


Coach of the Year

Florent Ibenge (DR Congo)

Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic (Uganda)

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nacer Sandjak (MO Bejaia)

Florence Omagbemi (Nigeria women’s national team)

Florent Ibenge is up for an award. Photo:
Florent Ibenge is up for an award. Photo:

Referee of the Year

Papa Gasama, Gambia

Grishea Gehead, Egypt

Malang Diedhiou, Senegal


Club of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

MO Bejaia (Algeria)

TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

Zamalek (Egypt)

Zesco United (Zambia)

Club World Cup participants - Mamelodi Sundowns enjoying success this season. Photo:
Mamelodi Sundowns enjoying success this season. Photo:

National Team of the Year

DR Congo

Guinea Bissau

Nigeria U-23




Women’s National Team of the Year




South Africa



The CAF 2016 African Player of the Year

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borrusia Dortmund)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)

Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)

German Bundesliga
Aubameyang is the current African Player of the Year –

The CAF African Player of the Year (Based in Africa)

Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns & Zimbabwe)

Keegan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)

Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe & Zambia)

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda)