Cote D’Ivoire Squad Announced Without Bailly And Gervinho

Cote D’Ivoire Squad Announced Without Bailly And Gervinho

Cote D’Ivoire coach Michel Dussuyer has named his squad for the two upcoming international assignments facing the Elephants this month, with some key players missing due to injury.

The two matches that Cote D’Ivoire will have to deal with in November include a 2018 World Cup qualifier against Morocco on November 12, before a friendly international encounter against France on November 15.

The Elephants will face those two difficult matches without the services of two important players in Gervinho and Eric Bailly, as they have both suffered injuries in recent times.

Gervinho ruptured the cruciate ligament in his knee during a training session with his Chinese Super League side, Hebei Fortune earlier in the week, and was flown to France for further examination.

Manchester United defender Bailly suffered a knee injury in English Premier League action at the end of October, and will be out of action for two months.

The Ivorian will be looking to gain fitness in time to feature for Jose Mourinho’s side in the final days of 2016.

While Bailly will recover in time for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in January, Gervinho’s injury is more serious and will require a longer recovery time, putting him out of contention for the AFCON.

This is a big disappointment for the Elephants, who will be defending the Nations Cup title they won in 2015. But first they will need to focus on World Cup qualifying, with the Atlas Lions of Morocco presenting a difficult clash.


Cote D’Ivoire Squad

Goalkeepers: Sylvain Gbohouo (TP Mazembe/DRC), Mande Sayouba (Stabaek/NOR), Axel Kacou (FC Tours/FRA), Ali Badra Sangare (AS Tanda/CIV)

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Paris SG/FRA), Simon Deli (Slavia Prague/CZE), Ousmane Diarrassouba (Adanaspor/TUR), Wilfried Kanon (The Hague/NED), Lamine Kone (Sunderland AFC/ENG), Adama Traore (FC Basel/SUI), Bagayoko Mamadou (KV Sint Truiden/BEL)

Midfielders: Geoffrey Serey Die (FC Basel/SUI), Victorien Angban(Grenada/ESP), Cheick Doukoure (FC Metz/FRA), Franck Kessie (Atlanta Bergame/ITA), Serge N’Guessan (AS Nancy Lorraine/FRA), Jean Michael Seri (Nice/FRA), Jules Eboue (Krasnodar/RUS)

Strikers: Wilfried Bony (Stoke City/ENG), Max Gradel (Bournemouth/ENG), Jonathan Kodjia (Aston Villa/ENG), Giovanni Sio (Rennes/FRA), Salomon Kalou (Hertha Berlin/GER), Nicolas Pepe (Angers/FRA)