Top Seeds Unveiled For 2017 AFCON Draw

Top Seeds Unveiled For 2017 AFCON Draw

The top four seeded national teams have been revealed ahead of the 2017 AFCON draw which will take place in Gabon next month.

The 2017 Africa Cup of Nations tournament is set for January and February next year in Gabon, with 16 countries aiming to be crowned the continent’s champion.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) named the four countries that will be top seeds ahead of the draw, which will be held in Libreville on Wednesday, 19 October.

Host nation Gabon, defending title-holders Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana and Algeria been selected by the governing body as the seeded teams based on the performance of the qualified teams during the 2014 World Cup, the last three AFCON competitions, and the qualifying campaigns for those tournaments.

The formula used for each of the AFCON final tournaments was eight (8) points for the winner, six (6) for runner-up, four (4) for semi-finalists, three (3) for quarter-finalists, two (2) for third in the group and one (1) for fourth in the group.

It was also decided to give more importance to the recent editions of the AFCON; 2015 multiplied by a co-efficient of 3, 2013 by 2 and 1 for 2012.

A similar system was used with the qualifying campaigns, as well as the World Cup in Brazil.

For the draw, host Gabon automatically goes to A1 and holders Cote d’Ivoire in C1. A draw will be conducted to determine the position for Ghana and Algeria in either B1 or D1. The second stage will be drawing of teams in Pot 4, before Pots 3 and 2 are drawn.

The 2017 AFCON tournament will be held from January 14 to 5 February 2017 in the four Gabonese cities of Libreville, Franceville, Oyem-Bitam and Port-Gentil.


The Four Pots For The 2017 AFCON Draw

Pot 1: Gabon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Algeria

Pot 2: Tunisia, Mali, Burkina Faso, DR Congo

Pot 3: Cameroon, Senegal, Morocco, Egypt

Pot 4: Togo, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau