Iheanacho And Iwobi In Nigerian Provisional Olympic Squad

Iheanacho And Iwobi In Nigerian Provisional Olympic Squad

The Nigerian provisional Olympic squad has been named by coach Samson Siasia, with 35 players included in the list that will be finalised ahead of Rio 2016 in August.

Alex Iwobi of Arsenal, Manchester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho, and Chelsea stalwart John Mikel Obi have been penned in the selection.

Mikel is one of the overage players being considered for the Under-23 Olympic men’s football tournament, as each team is allowed to choose three players who are over 23.

Iheanacho and Iwobi’s selection has been in doubt, due to issues with the timing of the tournament, as it falls in the pres-season period when European clubs prepare for the new campaigns throughout the continent.

Arsenal have reportedly caved in to the requests from the Siasia, and have given permission for Iwobi to form part of their Olympic plans. The same cannot yet be said for Manchester City talent Iheanacho.

The Dream Team VI, which is the Nigerian Olympic team’s nickname, is yet to receive a reply from the English Premier League team concerning Iheanacho’s release.

Clubs are not obliged to release players to take part in the competition, unlike the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), and the Nigerians will hope that they can sway the Citizens in time for him to play a part in their Olympic journey.

The Nigerian provisional Olympic squad will now travel to Atlanta in the US for a month-long training camp in preparation for Rio 2016.

During their time in Georgia, they will play three friendly matches. They face Mexico’s Olympic team on July 2, before a game against local team Charleston Battery FC on July 16. They will end their time in Atlanta on July 27 with a match against the Honduras Olympic side.

The Dream Team VI have been drawn in Group B of the men’s Olympic football tournament, alongside Sweden, Colombia and Japan.


Nigerian provisional Olympic squad for Rio 2016

Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa FC), Yusuf Bala (Kano Pillars), Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers), Taiwo Abdulrahman (Kwara United), Ndubuisi Agu (FC Porto), Junior Ajayi (CS Sfaxien), Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense), Taiwo Awoniyi (Frankfurt), Okechukwu Azubuike (Yeni Malatyaspor), Etor Daniel (Enyimba), Augustine Dimgba (Sunshine Stars), William Troost-Ekong (Haugesund FC), Saturday Erimuya (Kayseri Erciyespor), Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense FC), Imoh Ezekiel (Anderlecht), Saviour Godwin (Ostende), Odion Ighalo (Watford), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Emiloju Julius (MFM), Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin), John Mikel Obi (Chelsea), Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir), Usman Muhammed (Uniao), Wilfred Ndidi (Genk), Erhun Obanor (MFM), Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea), Sodiq Saliu (Seraing), Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao), Moses Simon (Gent), Seth Sincere (Rhapsody), Ndifreke Udo (Abia Warriors), Aminu Umar (Osmalispor), Sadiq Umar (Roma)