World Cup Qualifying Draw – African Groups Revealed

Written by Peter Pedroncelli

The 2018 World Cup qualifying draw for the 20 African teams who still have a chance to qualify for the tournament took place in Cairo on Friday.

This will be the third round of qualifying for teams in Africa, with 54 countries on the continent originally attempting to book a place in Russia come 2018.

Five groups have been decided, based on specific seedings, with four teams in each of the groups. The winners of these groups will automatically qualify to represent Africa at the showpiece event.

The draw threw up a few interesting African battles, including Group E’s impending encounter between Ghana and Egypt. Congo and Uganda are the other two teams in that selection.

In terms of the group of death, Group B stands out, with Algeria, Cameroon, Nigeria and Zambia drawn together with only one of these African giants set to emerge with a ticket to the next World Cup.

Gabon, Mali, Cote D’Ivoire and Morocco have been drawn in Group C, and that will certainly be another interesting group to monitor, with the current African champions Cote D’Ivoire needing to get the better of a number of strong sides in order to book a spot in Russia.

Group D sees South Africa, Senegal, Burkina Faso and Cape Verde bunched together, while Group A will have North Africans Tunisia and Libya grouped with DR Congo and Guinea.

Now that the draw has been completed, qualification matches for the five groups are set to begin in October, before continuing in 2017 and concluding in with the winners known in November.


The World Cup Qualifying Draw – African Zone Groups

Group A: Tunisia, Libya, DR Congo, Guinea

Group B: Zambia, Cameroon, Algeria, Nigeria

Group C: Gabon, Mali, Cote D’Ivoire, Morocco

Group D: Senegal, South Africa, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde

Group E: Ghana, Congo, Egypt, Uganda