FIFA Announce African Seeds For World Cup Draw

FIFA Announce African Seeds For World Cup Draw

FIFA have announced the African seeds for teams from the continent which still remain in contention for a qualification berth at the 2018 World Cup set to take place in Russia.

A total of 20 teams from Africa will be involved in the draw, which will take place in Cairo, Egypt on June 24. Of those 20 remaining teams, which have been through a previous qualification phase thus far, five will ultimately qualify for the showpiece by topping their respective groups.

The draw at the end of June will see the 20 national teams put into five groups based on the seeds that FIFA have announced.

These seeds have been decided by looking at places on the current FIFA ranking, as well as previous qualification stats for World Cups from the 20 African nations involved.

Cameroon is the nation with the most World Cup appearances, amounting to seven. Nigeria have five appearances at World Cups.

Algeria, Cote D’Ivoire, Ghana, Senegal and Tunisia are the top seeds as the highest ranked teams according to FIFA’s monthly updated list.

Pot 2 consists of Cape Verde, Egypt, DR Congo, Nigeria and Mali, while Cameroon, Morocco, Guinea, South Africa and Congo Brazzaville are seeded in pot 3.

The final pot includes Uganda, Burkina Faso, Zambia, Gabon and Libya. Only Gabon and Libya are out of the top 20 ranked African teams on the FIFA ranking amongst the 20 teams left with a chance of qualifying.

After the draw on June 24, qualification matches for the five groups will begin in October, before continuing next year and concluding in November.

African Seeds According To FIFA

Pot 1: Algeria, Cote D’Ivoire, Ghana, Senegal, Tunisia

Pot 2: Cape Verde, Egypt, DR Congo, Nigeria, Mali

Pot 3: Cameroon, Morocco, Guinea, South Africa, Congo Brazzaville

Pot 4: Uganda, Burkina Faso, Zambia, Gabon, Libya