Oliseh Names Nigeria Squad For Tanzania Game

Oliseh Names Nigeria Squad For Tanzania Game

New Nigeria national team coach Sunday Oliseh has named the squad that he will be relying on when the Super Eagles take on Tanzania in a 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier in Dar es Salaam.

The squad of 18 foreign-based footballers was called up by the man who recently replaced Stephen Keshi at the helm of the national team, ahead of the team’s away encounter with the Taifa Stars on September 5.

These 18 individuals will be complimented by a number of local-based players who were announced a few weeks ago, combining to create a strong Super Eagles outfit with the aim of qualifying to take on Africa’s best in Gabon at the beginning of 2017.

Veteran goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama will lead the squad against Tanzania, aiming to reach the tournament which he has vowed to be his last before he retires from national team football.

There were surprise call ups for Izunna Ernest Uzochukwu and Sylvester Igboun, who will earn their debut caps if used in the encounter.

The attack is comprised of stalwart Ahmed Musa of CSKA Moscow, Anthony Ujah from Werder Bremen, Emmanuel Emenike of Al Ain in the UAE, and Gent’s Moses Simon.


Nigeria Squad:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France); Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia); Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Troost Ekong (FK Haugesund, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa SK, Turkey)

Midfielders: Joel Obi (Torina FC, Italy); Izunna Ernest Uzochukwu (FC Amkar Perm, Russia); Obiora Nwankwo (Coimbra FC, Portugal); Lukman Haruna (Anzhi Machatsjkala, Russia); Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emem Eduok (Esperance ST, Tunisia); Emmanuel Emenike (Al Ain, UAE); Anthony Ujah (Werder Bremen, Germany); Sylvester Igboun (FC UFA, Russia); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)